Thank You!

Posted: March 21, 2014 by CrossFit Lewes in Share the Pain

Almost a week has passed since our overwhelmingly successful fundraiser, Share the Pain, and I am still in absolute awe of the fundraising efforts and generosity of the Crossfit Lewes community and our friends and families.  Working in a field that is filled with tragedy and despair (and a whole lot of courage, strength, and perseverance), it has been personally uplifting to witness the caring and concern of others.

As many of you have heard, the SAFE Program has been struggling this past year.  After years of being faced with State budget cuts and increasing competition for grants, we lost a significant grant.  In order to avoid layoffs, we cut some of our core services and drastically cut our resources that went directly to the survivors, such as rent, security deposits, utility deposits and emergency funds for when survivors come into shelter and need help with the basics, like clothes, medicine, gas, and phone minutes.  We have been operating with $27,000 less in this fund and it has been extremely difficult to meet the needs of everyone who comes through our program.  We shelter at least 100 women and around 100 children every year, while also providing community advocacy and transitional services to at least 200 more survivors.

CFL_STP TOTAL

So $33,000 makes an incredible difference!  It puts us back in a position to be able to meet the basic needs, while we continue to seek alternative funding for the long term.  I am truly grateful, as is the entire staff of the SAFE Program and the survivors that we work with.

I have the benefit of knowing these families and to seeing the very real and important difference that these funds make.  I would like to take a moment to share with everyone some specifics of how these funds are already being used.  Last week, knowing that these funds were coming, the SAFE Program was able to pay one survivors’ car payment and car insurance, enabling her to keep her job.  We also paid the security deposit and provided some household items for a Mom who is exiting shelter and moving into her own home, in which she will then be able to reunite with her four children who have been in foster care.  Additionally, we paid a vet bill for some animals so that we could foster the animals when the victim comes into shelter (she refused to leave without the animals being cared for first).  This week, we paid a car repair bill for one of the sheltered women to assure that she could keep getting to work.  We purchased clothing, shoes and new backpacks for several children coming into shelter so that they didn’t have to miss very much school during the crisis.  We were also able to pay the transportation costs for a survivor to flee to another State and reconnect with her mother so that she can be safe.

When I began CrossFit sixteen months ago, I really had no idea of how much it would mean to me.  I figured I would get stronger, but what an understatement that has turned out to me.  Not only am I stronger every day, I have a new sense of what I am capable of, a confidence that surprises me, and I feel connected to a community of people who are supportive, caring and a lot of fun.  I laugh, even when I am struggling.  And I feel supported each and every day.

And all of that was before the fundraiser.  Now, my heart is just swelling with pride.  My own commitment to CrossFit and to each and every one of you is deeper and stronger.  I personally and professionally thank each and every one of you!

Marcey

Comments
  1. sorsini1 says:

    That brought tears to my eyes. So happy for everyone at the SAFE Program!

Leave a Reply

