Why do we do it????

Posted: January 8, 2013 by Uncle D in CrossFit

Why indeed.

The odds of me even attempting to make it to the games are astronmically large. It is extremely unlikely that I will have a GQ cover body in the remainder of my lifetime. I will not be the best in my box at any WOD’s or individual movements. Something on me hurts almost constantly. I am 47 years old and according to conventional wisdom I should not be even attempting a snatch or a 155lb squat clean/thruster, let alone do 40 reps. I should run a few times a week, maybe hit a few pieces of equipment, recognizing that as I age I’m going to hit certain limitations. To that, I say, with all due respect, and in my best Samuel L Jackson, please… motherf%$^*r.

Being the best at my box doesn’t drive me. I’m not saying it wouldn’t be nice once in a while, but it won’t be the end of me. The pain is certainly a by-product I could do without, and if time were an unlimited resource I suspect I could get enough massages and chiropractor visits, SMR, maybe toss in some yoga and I’d feel great. Alas, I have a job, a wife, two kids involved in sports, and such things are a distant fantasy. So instead I beat my body to the edge of its limits as many times a week as I can manage. I rip holes in my hands, shred skin off my shins, bruise my collarbone, and run (sometimes very slowly) the long slow slope to improvement. So the question remains, if I can’t be the best, if I’m always sore, if it is all I can do to even make it to the box some weeks and still have something resembling a home life, why in the hell do I put myself through this torture.

In the end the simplest answer is because what I do makes me proud of me. It makes me stand taller, it instills a will and confidence that I had almost forgotten. There is a value to self in proficiency. In fact, often the harder that proficiency is to acquire, the greater its value to the individual. On top of my improved physical and mental well being, I also get some icing to go with the Paleo cupcake of pain that is Crossfit. I have acquired a second family. A family of like minded masochists, who share in my pain with their own, revel in each other’s triumphs, and do their concerted best to push each other beyond what would be possible alone. I love these people. I can have the worst day ever and five minutes in at the box it’s all gone. No other fitness regimen that I have done has ever provided that part of the equation.

So why do we do it? Because it makes us better people. It reminds us of the value of hard work. It’s my home away from home. It’s fun, it’s awful, it’s humbling, it’s inspiring, it’s frustrating and painful, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Uncle D

Comments
  1. Michelle Newland says:

    Booyeah dead on Uncle D! Home away from home and the last sentence sums it all up!

  2. […] Food for Thought:  The Military Machine as a Management Wreck & Why do we do it???? […]

Leave a Reply

